
COVID-19 Assistance for Renters
and Homeowners

The coronavirus relief legislation passed by Congress provides assistance for
renters and homeowners in Alabama and across the country.

Beginning on March 18, 2020, foreclosures are prohibited on all federally backed
mortgages for 60 days. 
Borrowers experiencing financial hardship due to COVID-19 can receive 180 days of
forbearance on their federally backed mortgage.
Owners of multifamily rental properties with federally backed mortgages can
receive forbearance on those loans for 90 days. Borrowers that take advantage of
this policy, may not evict, charge late fees, or impose other penalties during this
time period.

For 120 days, owners of federally-subsidized properties or properties with federally
backed mortgages may not initiate eviction proceedings and charge penalties or
fees to a tenant who experiences hardship and cannot pay rent.

Pause on Foreclosures for Residential Homeowners

Pause on Evictions

Below are some helpful resources for Alabama renters and homeowners in
federally backed mortgages and federal properties impacted by the
COVID-19 virus.



Regional Administrator: Denise
Cleveland-Leggett
Field Office Director: Kenneth E. Free
 
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday
 
Phone: 205-731-2617
 

COVID-19 Assistance for Renters
and Homeowners

Alabama's U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) Office

Birmingham Field Office
Medical Forum Building
950 22nd Street North, Suite 900
Birmingham, AL 35203
 
Customer Service
Fax: 205-731-2593
TTY: 1-800-548-2546

How do I find out what type of loan I have? 

Homeowners should be able to tell if their loan is insured or guaranteed by a federal
program from the loan documents. Federal insurance or guarantee programs include:

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA)
Veterans Affairs (VA)
USDA Guaranteed Loan or USDA Direct Loan
HUD Section 184 Indian Home Loan Guarantee Program
HUD Section 184A Native Hawaiian Housing Loan Guarantee Program

Homeowners with loans backed by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are also eligible for
protections under the CARES Act. Homeowners won't be able to tell if their loan is
backed by Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac just from the loan documents.

Use Fannie Mae's Loan Lookup Tool:
https://www.knowyouroptions.com/loanlookup 
Or call 1-800-2FANNIE (1-800-232-6643)

To determine whether a loan is backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, the borrower
 can use the tools below: 
 
Fannie Mae: Coronavirus (COVID-19 Help)



COVID-19 Assistance for Renters
and Homeowners

Use Freddie Mac's Loan Lookup Tool: 

Or call 1-800-FREDDIE (1-800-373-3343)

Freddie Mac: Extending Help to Homeowners Impacted by COVID-19

https://ww3.freddiemac.com/loanlookup/

Mortgage Services

You can also ask the company you make payments to (they're called the loan servicer),
and they should be able to tell you if your loan is backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac.
 
In addition to the resources above, the Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) has
issued an FAQ entitled "Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac Assistance Options for Families
Impacted by COVID-19." This and other information is available at
www.fhfa.gov/coronavirus.

https://www.jones.senate.gov/download/faqs_fannie-mae/freddie-mac

